Paraguay Center

Paraguay, officially known as the Republic of Paraguay, is a landlocked country located in the heart of South America. It is bordered by Argentina to the south and southwest, Brazil to the east and northeast, and Bolivia to the northwest. Paraguay is located in the southern region of the continent, nestled between the Paraguay River to the west and the Paraná River to the east.



Paraguay has a predominantly subtropical climate with distinct wet and dry seasons. The summer months, from November to March, are hot and humid, with temperatures often exceeding 35°C (95°F). The winter months, from May to August, are cooler and drier, with temperatures averaging around 18°C (64°F). Rainfall is heaviest during the summer months, particularly in the eastern region.


Paraguay is home to diverse wildlife, with rich ecosystems ranging from dense forests to expansive grasslands. The country’s fauna includes a variety of mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Notable species include the jaguar, giant anteater, capybara, toucan, and parrot. Paraguay’s rivers and wetlands support abundant aquatic life, including caimans, piranhas, and freshwater turtles.

Longest Rivers

The Paraguay River is the longest river in Paraguay, flowing approximately 2,549 kilometers (1,584 miles) from its source in Brazil through Paraguay and into Argentina. It serves as a vital waterway for transportation and commerce, linking Paraguay’s interior with the Atlantic Ocean via the Paraná River.

Highest Mountains

Paraguay is relatively flat and lacks significant mountainous terrain. The country’s highest point is Cerro Pero, also known as Cerro Tres Kandu, which rises to an elevation of just 842 meters (2,762 feet) above sea level. Despite its modest height, Cerro Pero offers panoramic views of the surrounding landscape.



The territory of present-day Paraguay has been inhabited for thousands of years, with evidence of human presence dating back to the pre-Columbian era. Indigenous peoples such as the Guarani and Chacoan cultures were the earliest inhabitants, developing complex societies based on agriculture, fishing, and trade. The Guarani, in particular, played a significant role in shaping Paraguay’s cultural identity.

Colonial Period

Paraguay was colonized by the Spanish in the 16th century, with the arrival of Spanish explorer Juan de Salazar y Espinosa in 1537. The Spanish established settlements and missions throughout the region, encountering resistance from indigenous groups such as the Guarani. Paraguay became part of the Spanish Viceroyalty of Peru until 1776 when it was incorporated into the newly created Viceroyalty of the Río de la Plata.

Modern Age

Paraguay gained independence from Spain in 1811 following a revolt led by José Gaspar Rodríguez de Francia and other nationalist leaders. Francia, known as “El Supremo,” ruled Paraguay as a dictator until his death in 1840, implementing policies aimed at maintaining independence and fostering economic self-sufficiency. Paraguay experienced periods of political instability and conflict throughout the 19th and 20th centuries, including the devastating War of the Triple Alliance (1864-1870) and the Chaco War (1932-1935). Since the mid-20th century, Paraguay has transitioned to a democratic form of government, though challenges such as poverty, corruption, and social inequality persist.



As of the latest available data, Paraguay has a population of approximately 7 million people. The population is relatively young, with a median age of around 28 years. The majority of Paraguayans reside in urban areas, with the capital city, Asunción, being the largest urban center.

Ethnicity and Language

Paraguay is ethnically diverse, with a mix of indigenous peoples, mestizos (mixed European and indigenous ancestry), and immigrants from Europe and other regions. The Guarani people are an integral part of Paraguay’s cultural heritage, and the Guarani language is widely spoken alongside Spanish, making Paraguay one of the few bilingual countries in South America.


The majority of Paraguayans are Roman Catholic, with Catholicism being the dominant religion in the country. However, there is also a significant Protestant minority, as well as adherents of indigenous and syncretic religious beliefs. Religious practices often incorporate elements of Catholicism and indigenous spirituality.

Administrative Divisions and Population

Paraguay is divided into 17 departments (departamentos), each headed by a governor appointed by the president. The following is a list of Paraguay’s administrative divisions along with their populations:

  1. Central – Population: 2.3 million
  2. Alto Paraguay – Population: 20,000
  3. Boquerón – Population: 60,000
  4. Concepción – Population: 250,000
  5. San Pedro – Population: 400,000
  6. Amambay – Population: 200,000
  7. Canindeyú – Population: 300,000
  8. Presidente Hayes – Population: 100,000
  9. Alto Parana – Population: 800,000
  10. Itapúa – Population: 600,000
  1. Misiones – Population: 200,000
  2. Ñeembucú – Population: 100,000
  3. Paraguarí – Population: 300,000
  4. Guairá – Population: 250,000
  5. Caaguazú – Population: 600,000
  6. Caazapá – Population: 200,000
  7. Cordillera – Population: 250,000

10 Largest Cities by Population

  1. Asunción
  2. Ciudad del Este
  3. Luque
  4. San Lorenzo
  5. Capiatá
  6. Lambare
  7. Fernando de la Mora
  8. Limpio
  9. Nemby
  10. Encarnación

Education Systems

Education in Paraguay is free and compulsory for children between the ages of 6 and 15. The education system is overseen by the Ministry of Education and Culture and is divided into three levels: primary education, secondary education, and higher education. Paraguay has several universities and higher education institutions, including the National University of Asunción, the Catholic University of Asunción, and the National University of the East.



Paraguay has several airports, with the main international airport being Silvio Pettirossi International Airport in Asunción. Other major airports include Guarani International Airport in Ciudad del Este, and Juan de Ayolas Airport in Ayolas.


Paraguay has a limited railway network, with a total length of approximately 440 kilometers (273 miles). The railway system primarily serves the transportation of goods, linking major cities and industrial centers.


Paraguay has an extensive road network, with a total length of approximately 29,000 kilometers (18,000 miles). The country’s highways connect urban centers, rural areas, and neighboring countries, facilitating transportation and commerce.


Paraguay’s main ports are located along the Paraguay River, providing access to the Atlantic Ocean via the Paraná River. The five major ports include:

  1. Asunción Port
  2. Villeta Port
  3. Encarnación Port
  4. Concepción Port
  5. Puerto Pilcomayo

Country Facts

  • Population: 7 million
  • Capital: Asunción
  • Official Languages: Spanish, Guarani
  • Religion: Roman Catholicism
  • Race: Mestizo, Guarani, European
  • Currency: Paraguayan Guarani (PYG)
  • ISO Country Code: PY
  • International Calling Code: +595
  • Top-Level Domain: .py